National Productivity Week 27th January 2025 | Visit Website

A diverse community of
leading experts, policymakers
and practitioners

The Institute’s key research themes
are led by ten academic partners
spread across the UK.

We’re a UK-wide research
organisation exploring what
productivity means for business

Businesses are crucial to solving
the UK’s productivity problems.

Tera Allas, CBE

Director of Research and Economics, McKinsey & Company and Honorary Professor at Alliance Manchester Business School

Committees: Advisory Committee chair, Governing Council member


Tera Allas is Director of Research and Economics in McKinsey & Company’s United Kingdom and Ireland office. She leads McKinsey’s research on the macroeconomic outlook, growth, and productivity, bringing together deep expertise and more than three decades of experience in strategy, corporate finance, economics, and public policy. Tera is a recognised thought leader, author, speaker, and adviser on topics ranging from economic development and technology adoption to the future of work and corporate performance.

She is a trustee of the Royal Economic Society, a trustee of the Productivity Leadership Group (Be the Business), and a governor of the National Institute of Economic and Social Research. She is also a member of several expert advisory groups on economic growth, productivity, innovation, and labour markets. Tera is a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences and a Fellow of the Royal Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce, chair of The Productivity Institute’s Advisory Committee and a member of the Governing Council and Honorary Professor at Alliance Manchester Business School.

Tera was previously on the board of Innovate UK, the United Kingdom’s national innovation agency. From 2004 to 2014, she worked as chief economist in the UK’s energy, transport, and business departments and as deputy head of the UK Government Economic Service. Tera was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) for services to economic policy in the New Year Honours list 2019.